

NEVADA STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 3, 2020

CONTACT: Jennifer Lewis

Public Information Officer

(702) 486-1139

CONTRACTORS BOARD'S AUGUST DISCIPLINARY HEARINGS RESULT IN FINES ASSESSED TO NORTHERN NEVADA CONTRACTORS

RENO and HENDERSON, Nev. – The Nevada State Contractors Board took disciplinary action against licensed contractors for violations of Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 624 during its August hearings. To comply with social distancing and related emergency directives, all Board hearings are conducted online via Zoom, in compliance with Open Meeting Law requirements.

Licensee	License No.	Decision and Order
I Cox Construction Company (Carson City)	59699 (B-2 Residential & Small Commercial)	 Found in violation of: NRS 624.3013(4) Failure to keep in force the required bond or cash deposit NRS 624.3014(2)(a) Aiding or abetting an unlicensed person to evade the provisions of this chapter NRS 624.3014(3) Any attempt to assign, transfer or dispose of a license or permit unauthorized use Fined \$1,350 and assessed investigative costs. License to remain suspended until surety bond is reinstated.
Harry Jay Weiner, dba Designs for Living Tile and Stone (Reno)	78360 (C-20 Tiling)	 Found in violation of: NRS 624.3011(1)(b)(4) Disregard of the laws of this State regarding industrial insurance. Fined \$1,000 and assessed investigative costs.

The Nevada State Contractors Board is committed to protecting the public's health, safety, and welfare through licensing and regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to disciplinary action by the Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing contractors. Violations may result in Board action against the contractor's license. The State Contractors Board has the power to regulate contractors and discipline licensees who violate NRS 624. Disciplinary action may consist of a fine, order corrective action, suspension, revocation or other action.

NRS 624.212(7) allows an unlicensed individual who was issued a cease and desist order to petition the Board in writing to lift or alter the order within 15 days after receiving the cease and desist order. Upon receipt of this request, the Board will schedule an administrative hearing to review the facts and make a determination on the validity of the cease and desist order and assess any fines or costs that may be associated with the investigation.

###

Visit the NSCB Website for Additional Information & Resources: www.nscb.nv.gov

Join NSCB's social media pages to receive current industry updates:

www.facebook.com/NVContractorsBoard

https://www.instagram.com/nevadastatecontractorsboard/



NEVADA STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD NEWS RELEASE

THE CONTRACTORS BOARD IS HERE TO HELP!

Contact us Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (excluding holidays)

HENDERSON OFFICE: (702) 486-1100 - 2310 Corporate Cir, #200, Henderson, NV 89074

RENO OFFICE: (775) 688-1141 - 5390 Kietzke Ln., #102, Reno, NV 89511

www.nscb.nv.gov